Databases

Font Size: + -

Feedback Print

A | B |
C |
D |
E |
F |
G |
H |
I |
J |
K |
L |
M |
N |
O |
P | Q |
R |
S |
T |
U |
V |
W |
X | Y | Z

A
: ABCmouse.com (In-library use only)
ABCmouse.com helps children learn to read through phonics and teaches lessons in math, social studies, art, music, and much more. For children ages 2 to 7.
: Academic OneFile
Search peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
: Access World News
Find information on global issues and events, education, political and social issues and more including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring the Ocala Star-Banner, Orlando Sentinel Miami Herald, Tampa Bay Times, USA Today, international sources, and more.
: Agriculture Collection
Access current and authoritative content that spans the agriculture industry, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
: AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses or Mailing Lists
Find 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business and executive profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals and much more. This resource is ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, and finding friends and relatives.
: Auto Repair Source
Written specifically for the do-it-yourselfer, find automobile repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles including some makes and models dating back as far as 1945. Also included are technical service bulletins, wiring diagrams and labor time estimates.
B
: Beacham’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Find extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species, a summary section detailing information on each species, a concluding summary of recovery efforts, and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
: Biblioboard

Browse Biblioboard to discover books by local authors and publications by authors in the Indie Author Project. View the Historic Marion County Digital Collection and other community curations. All items on Biblioboard are always available.
: Biology
Explore biological concepts and critical issues in biology. Also, find information on careers in biology, color illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary.
: Books and Authors
Explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award-winner and librarian's favorites’ lists, this resource helps bring readers and literature together.
: Boundless
Check out books anytime, anywhere! Find fiction and nonfiction e-books and downloadable audiobooks for children and teens. Check one out today!
: Business Economics and Theory
Perfect for business classes, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.
C
: Career Collection
Enhance your skills and knowledge to further your existing career or to plan the path for a new one! Find more than 250 e-books in the Career Collection.
: Communication and Mass Media
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles on communication, and mass media.
: Computer Database
Find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
: Criminal Justice
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about criminal justice.
: Culinary Arts
Find information from major cooking and nutrition magazines, including thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
D
: DemographicsNow Library Edition
A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
: Diversity Studies
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about diversity studies.
E
: Educator’s Reference Complete
Find full-text academic journals and reports, as well as many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.; Encyclopedia of Cancer
Find a comprehensive survey of cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
: Environmental Studies
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles on environmental studies and policy.
: Expanded Academic ASAP
Access scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers, many with full text and images.
F
: Find a College
Find a college and learn interesting facts about it.
: Fine Arts and Music
Search for resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
: Florida Building Code
Find Florida Building Code, perform a license search, follow the latest revisions and more! Written for contractors, builders, and the general public and provided by the State of Florida Department of Community Affairs in conjunction with Information Systems of Florida, Inc.
: Florida Department of Education Resources for Students
Find information about schools, graduation requirements, career planning, universities, community colleges, distance learning, and more.
: Florida Electronic Library
Access electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias and books for information on topics such as current events, education, business, technology, and health issues. Find information for all age groups, including homework help for students and resources for teachers.
: Florida Memory Project
Find original documents, photographs and other materials from the collection of the State Archives of Florida.
: Florida Students
Prepare for Florida standardized tests with the help of this site.
: Florida Virtual School
Take online classes and learn from students from all over the state of Florida.
: Freading
Download e-books from a collection of more than 20,000 titles.
G

: Garden, Landscape and Horticulture
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles on gardening, landscape, and horticulture.
: Gender Studies
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about gender studies.
: Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Search current, full-text articles from professional journals about small business.

: Gale OneFile: Business
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
: Gale Presents: Peterson's Career Prep
Learn about careers, receive personalized recommendations, create resumes, search for jobs and schools and get career advice.

: General OneFile
Find millions of news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: Business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

: General Science
This database of professional journals provides current, full–text articles.
: Green File
Search scholarly and general-interest titles, as well as governmental documents and reports, on the unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
H
: Health and Wellness Resource Center
Access carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials from hundreds of health/medical journals, pamphlets, and health-related videos. Material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
: HeritageHub
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704-today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information, and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900s and original obituary images.
: High School Periodical and Reference Database
Designed for high-school students, find access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
: Historic Marion County Digital Collection
The entire collection, pulled from the Marion County Public Library System’s collection of historic photographs, postcards, and prints, includes more than 1,000 items relating to Marion County and Florida dating from the late 19th century to the middle of the 20th century. The collection is growing all the time, as library staff continues to make new images available. Please check back to see what’s new!
: Hobbies and Crafts Source
Find detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas designed to meet the interests of virtually every hobby-enthusiast! Subject areas include arts and crafts, collecting, games and electronics, model building, home and leisure, needlework, outdoors and nature, and scrapbooking and paper craft.
: Home Improvement Source
Research do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance and remodeling projects. Find step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating, as well as articles from magazines and reference books with tips and suggestions.
I

: Indie Author Project

Increase exposure of your self-published work by sharing it through this community of public libraries, authors, curators and readers. Share your work with readers in Marion County and libraries across Florida. Select books will be available nationwide! Could your book be the next bestseller?

: Information Science and Library Issues
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about information science and library issues.
: ¡Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad, y otras materias. This bilingual database is a collection of images and full–text articles from popular Hispanic magazines, which includes a thesaurus and title annotations in both English and Spanish.
J

K
: Kids Infobits
For beginning researchers in kindergarten through grade 5, this database features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface. The curriculum-related, age-appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines, covering geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports, and much more.
L
: Legal Information Source
Search more than 12,800 state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes, and much more.
: Literature Criticism Online
Find scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals in a format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
: Literature Criticism Online, Something about the Author Online
Cross-search several literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.
: Literature for Children: Archival Collection
Discover this collection of treasures of children’s literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950. At the core of this collection are books from the Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature, housed in the Department of Special Collections and Area Studies at the University of Florida.
: Literature Resources from Gale
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major literature databases to find full texts of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.
: LitFinder
International in scope, this database covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content, including thousands of full-text poems, poem citations and excerpts, full-text short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Also included are biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
M
: MasterFile Premier
Search more than 2,000 general reference publications with full-text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, this resource contains full text for nearly 1,000 reference books and more than 107,000 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of more than 592,000 photos, maps, and flags.
: Merck Manual Consumer Version
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more; written in everyday language.
: Merck Manual Professional Version
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more; written for healthcare professionals.
: Middle School Reference Collection
Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies and more, this collection provides a selection of reference, primary sources and multimedia content, including audio and video clips, and thousands of photographs.
: Military and Intelligence Database
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about military and intelligence.
N
: Next Reads
Sign up for Next Read newsletters and have recommended reads come directly to your email. This resource has options for a wide variety of reading genres and will provide quick access to the library catalog right from your email inbox.
: NoveList Plus
Find your next great book to read as well as lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, book-talks, recommended reads, and more in this complete readers' resource.
: Nursing and Allied Health
Find information about aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
O
: Ocala Star Banner
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people, and much more from current and archived issues of The Ocala Star Banner. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate, and other sections.
: Occupational Outlook Handbook
Discover the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job and working conditions for hundreds of jobs. In addition, find job search tips, links to information about the job market in each state, and much more.
: Open Library
The world’s classic literature is at your fingertips! Download e-books from a collection of more than one million titles.
: OverDrive/Libby
Check out books anytime, anywhere! More than 56,000 e-books are available for download and the collection is growing. Check one out today!
P

: Popular Culture
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about pop culture.
: Popular Magazines
Search the most popular magazines, including Consumer Reports, Vogue, Men’s Health, and hundreds more.
: Power Search
Search many of the library’s research databases simultaneously.
: Pressbooks

Bring your book to life! Use this web-based tool to create, edit, format and generate your book in all the formats you need to publish. When you are ready to share your book, upload it directly to Biblioboard and the Indie Author Project from Pressbooks.
: Professional Collection
Find a collection of educational journals picked for their relevance in the modern world for today’s professional.
: Project Gutenberg
Download e-books from a collection of more than 40,000 titles.
: Pronunciator
Learn a new language! Find 80 languages with courses in audio and video. Practice with virtual conversations and check your progress with quizzes that test the full spectrum of language acquisition: Vocabulary, listening comprehension, reading comprehension, spelling writing, and punctuation.
: Procitizen
Prepare for citizenship with access to 100 videos and interactive drills and quizzes.
: Psychology
Find professional journals with current, full-text articles about psychology.
Q

R
: Religion and Philosophy
Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies, and how they impact our daily lives.
S
: Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Search current, full-text articles from professional journals about small business.
: Small Business Resource Center
Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and websites.
: Small Engine Repair Source
Access service manuals for small engines, including all-terrain vehicles, boats, lawn mowers, motorcycles, and much more.
: Something about the Author Online
Examine the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
: Sources in U.S. History: The Civil War
Search through documents of the Civil War, including personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.
T
: Tourism, Hospitality, and Leisure
Find full-text articles from professional journals about tourism, hospitality, and leisure.
: Tumblebooks
Search this collection of animated, talking, picture books that children can read or have read to them.
U
: U.S. History
Find current, full-text articles from professional journals about U.S. history.
V
: Value Line Publishing, Inc.
Obtain the most accurate and independently created research information available about industry, the stock market and the economy and learn how to use that information effectively to help meet personal financial objectives.
: Vocation, Careers and Technical Education
Find current, full-text articles from professional journals about vocation and careers.
W
: War and Terrorism
Find full-text articles from professional journals about war and terrorism.
: World Book
The premier suite of digital resources, with content to engage and excite all minds from pre-readers to advanced researchers. The databases are progressive and align users with their appropriate learning level. The built-in tools are accessible, flexible, and easy to use.
: World Book Discover
The premier suite of digital resources, with content to engage and excite all minds from pre-readers to advanced researchers. The databases are progressive and align users with their appropriate learning level. The built-in tools are accessible, flexible, and easy to use.
: World Book Early Learning
The perfect tool for pre and emergent readers to explore independently or learn with an adult. Developed with experts on early childhood education to offer tools and content that reinforces early childhood curriculum. Fun short videos, read-aloud stories, printable activities, and matching and tracing games kids love. A guided reading program, lesson plans, and curriculum correlations teachers, educators, and caregivers love! (Recommended ages: 2-8)
: World Book Kids
An ideal learning resource for elementary-aged students, designed to build confidence and encourage creativity. Easy-to-read articles that can be read aloud or translated and a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities. Encourage self-direction with our visual navigation in Explore, independent learning with WebQuest, and compare and contrast skills with Compare Animals and Compare Places. (Recommended ages: 6-10)
: World Book Timelines

A collection of 650 unique timelines, spanning the arts, science & technology, society & culture, sports, world history & geography, and more. Create, customize, collaborate, and share your timelines, which is great for visual learners to put events into context and for classroom instruction to introduce a subject. (Recommended ages: 8+)
: World History
Find current, full-text articles from professional journals about world history.
X Y Z